Seriously? Is It Just Me…

Seriously, the year I won’t forget.

Posted on: January 5, 2011

With the passing of each year, it sickens me how fast it goes by with no more than the sound of a whisper. Yet ringing loudly in my ears, are the adults’ voices from my childhood mocking my naive frustration at how slowly my life was taking at delivering the requisite milestones of youth. However, the beginning of a new year symbolizes hope, change and opportunity which are all reasons I enjoy this time of the year. (It’s certainly not for the weather, yikes).

As most bloggers are writing posts on memories from the previous year, or what they anticipate occurring in the upcoming year, I decided that I would reflect on the things I won’t do this year. More specifically, the things that I often find myself forgetting to do until I’m reminded too late that another year is gone.

Therefore, this year, I won’t forget:

1. To find time every morning to meditate, reflect and pray. The day always looks a little brighter after spending a few minutes alone with God.

2. To tell those whom I love how much they mean to me. Unfortunately, I’m not good at verbally sharing my thoughts and feelings. Maybe a text or short email to them every once in a while could be the message that makes their day survivable.

3. To remember my dreams and goals. Life is certainly meant to be enjoyed not endured, and moving towards a dream makes the valleys not as pointless and the peaks even more hopeful.

4. To spend time enjoying my own company. Interestingly enough, living alone you tend to often be alone, but I’m usually watching hours of reality TV marathons instead of journaling, taking a walk, or enjoying an afternoon latte.

5. To be more thankful. This is definitely a thought process that can change my life, and I know it first-hand and through the effects it has had on others. I’m not talking about Pollyanna-ing life, but truly finding something to be thankful for every day, even if it’s that I didn’t oversleep. I know it’s challenging to be thankful when life is throwing me a round of one-two punches, but if I can see the small things that are good, it could help me take my blows like a champ.

Recently, I read a quote by Eric Butterworth — “don’t go through life, grow through it”. Sometimes it’s just the small changes that you strive for that make it worthwhile. Life is certainly full of ups and downs, and this year, I don’t want to forget the good things when I find myself having to weather the bad times. So I hope that your 2011 will be prosperous and full of the little things you won’t forget to do.

Oh, and one more thing…

I won’t forget that I’m too old to be climbing five foot brick walls wearing six-inch heels and a tight dress. I’ll just expect to be thrown over the wall by a guy I barely know as I expose myself to the crowd, just like I did on New Year’s Eve in 2010. Seriously!

6 Responses to "Seriously, the year I won’t forget."

Mika I could not agree with you more! I love the New Year! I love getting another opportunity to grow.. search my soul.. and learn new things about myself and about this Universe.

Happy New Year Sweetie!

I am certainly glad it is called “New” Year instead of Old Year to remind us that we are older. But, I am very thankful to look around to see the love ones that ran the 365 day race got across the 2010 finish line. Now by the Grace of God we get to start and renew once again. Enjoy.

Mika, Thank you for the reminder of the small “important” gifts from God this past year 2010!
To be thankful that I woke up this morning and every morning in 2010, regardless of the time. To be thankful that I have a job I love, even though I’m frustrated some days. To be thankful that 2010 made me a Grandmother for the first time. (Thank you God for (my little red headed pumpkin, Kyler Aiden and his parents). Yes 2010 held some negative things, I wish had never happened. I lost my best friend to death on 1/11/10, Nash. But I had both of my daughters with me when it happened, that was a blessing. I lost another best human friend, not to death, but I lost that person just as if it were death, yet again. I had several friends who lost love ones, and watched them cry and ask God WHY? And felt I had no good answers for them.
I could go on but I those who know, and love me already know.
2010 was a year of sadness, happiness, despair, change and HOPE. Guess what? I survived! We survived!
I, like Mika, also climbed a 5 foot wall, (I think it was higher) but the wall was not to get into a club, it was a wall leading me to the stairway to heaven. God had it planned out perfectly, and I was going along with the plan, whether I was kicking and screaming or going willingly. His will, not mine.
MIKA! You encourage me daily, I admire the woman you have become, the friend you are to others, the sister that brings out the best in both of you, the Auntie M you are to Kyler, the sister in law you are and the daughter I always imagined having. Have I told you lately that I love you? If not, know that I do Love you more than you will ever know. #2

Thank you all for the wonderful and encouraging comments. I’m so grateful for your readership and support. May 2011 be your best year yet.

Thank you for reminding me that all of the above are the best reasons to look forward to not just a New Year but a New Day. If I don’t get a chance to tell you in person I want you to know that I Love You so very much. Oh and one more thing – wouldn’t it be great if this was the year I get to read “the book”?

Thanks for that blog. Right on track and similar to where I am now. I’m really concentrating on remembering my dreams and goals and who I am. Sometimes that gets lost in the minutia of the year as it becomes the rolling snow ball that it almost always does.

Comments are closed.

Soapbox Diaries from an Unplanned Single Life!

I hope you enjoy the random thoughts, observations and life lessons that I've learned along the way. It's called Seriously? because some days I just shake my head and say seriously, is this my life?


Read away and feel free to leave a comment -- I'd love to hear from you.

Seriously, just enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

You don't even have to remember to come by for a visit. I'm serious!

Join 19 other followers

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

© Seriously? by M/K, 2008 -2011